Research Guides: Folklore / Urban Legends Research Guide: Newspaper / Journal Articles

Finding Current Newspaper Articles

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window

Link to the Lexis-Nexis Database, a full-text database of newspaper articles. Use the Search the News Box.

To find news articles, use the pull-down By Source Type menu and choose Newspapers.
To find magazine articles, use the pull-down By Source Type menu and choose Magazines.
To find transcripts of news broadcasts, use the pull-down By Source Type menu and choose Broadcast Transcripts.
To find reviews, type REVIEW and the title of the movie, book, TV show, etc.

Can't Find an Article That You Need?

Use these sources to track down or get articles that you need.

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
ILLiad is used to request materials not owned by the WVU Libraries. Log in with your WVU ID and Password. First-time users will need to answer a few questions before requesting.
Find it @ WVU
Have a citation and need to find an article. a book, dissertation, or patent? Use Citation Linker @ WVU. Just enter the citation information into the form.

Find Journal and Magazine Articles

Links to EbscoHost, a database of newspaper, magazine, and journal articles, many full-text.

Choose databases relevant to your research, such as

Academic Search Premier
America: History & Life
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Film & Television Literature
MLA International Bibliography.

Choose the Full Text box or Find It @ WVU to retrieve articles available online.
Choose the Peer-Reviewed (Scholarly) box to retrieve peer-reviewed articles.

EbscoHost This link opens in a new window