Research Guides: Biology 117L: Lab Assignment: Find Primary Sources

First Choice Article Databases for the Sciences

Use these databases (indexes) to find scholarly articles. They are listed in order of most usefulness.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Type your topic, such as "fish protein" in the first box with Topic selected in the pull down menu. Add a narrower term describing your topic in the next box. Be sure the pull down menu shows Topic. Use quotes to designate phrases when you want the two words to appear together.
EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
Check the boxes on one or more databases for science (Academic Search Premier, Agricola, CAB Abstracts) and then Continue. Using the Advanced Search, type fish protein in the first box and a narrower term describing your topic in the next box.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.

Field Notes Are a Primary Source

From:

Moynihan M. 1958. Arremonops (striped sparrow), Frijoles, Barro Colorado Island, Pedro Miguel - All Panama, 1958. http://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/bibliography/101799

bioRxiv

bioRxiv.org: The Preprint Server for Biology is a free online archive and distribution service fro unpublished preprints in the life sciences. Authors make their finding immediately available and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before submission to journals.

Additional Article Databases

Not finding what you need? Try these additional article databases.

Agris This link opens in a new window
AGRIS is an international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology. It was created by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) in 1974, to facilitate information exchange and to bring together world literature dealing with all aspects of agriculture. AGRIS is a cooperative system in which participating countries input references to the literature produced within their boundaries and, in return, draw on the information provided by the other participants. To date, 240 national, international and intergovernmental centers participate from all over the world.Compiles by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. Indexes and abstracts international agricultural literature from over 135 nations.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Scifinder-n is the most comprehensive source for citations to the literature of chemistry and related disciplines. It includes PatentPak, MethodsNowSynthesis, formulations, biosequence searching, and the RetroSynthesis Planner with predictive capabilities. It explores chemical substances by chemical names, structures, formulas, or CAS Registry Numbers and much more.
GreenFILE (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering human impact on the environment, including the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.