This is the "Home" page of the "Advertising" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Last Updated: Sep 28, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page

Situation Analysis Tips

In each database search for your

  • Brand (Pringles)
  • Product (chips, snacks)
  • Company (Frito Lay)
  • Industry (snack foods)

Industries are classified in several ways, depending on the database. Search for company name to discover the industry classification.

Information about consumers and markets is found within many company and industry reports.

Search in many databases/search engines for complete information.

Trade magazine articles are rich sources of information.


Your Feedback

Your comments and suggestions for this research guide are welcome.

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:

Your Email:



This guide was created to help advertising and strategic communications students conduct research for secondary data.  Use the tabs above to navigate to specific sections of the guide and databases which contain information for situation analyses.  If you need in-depth assistance, I'd be happy to meet with your team for a consultation. 

Find Journal Articles

Trade and business magazines are good sources of information about products, brands, companies, ad campaigns, services, consumer behavior, spending trends, and more.  Use these business-focused databases to find articles on your topic.  

Search Tips:

  • use the "Find it @ WVU" link to access full text articles
  • start with default settings and simple keyword searches using few terms
  • too many results? add additional terms
  • too few results? fewer or different terms
  • ABI/Inform
    Articles from business journals including the Wall Street Journal.
  • Business Source Premier
    Articles from business and trade magazines.
  • Lexis Nexis Academic
    News stories from magazines and newspapers, including extensive global coverage.
  • Find it @ WVU
    Have an article citation? Use this form to find the full-text article in library online collections.

Advertising Journals

  • Electronic Journals
    Browse and search electronic journals in the field of advertising.
  • Mountainlynx
    Search by journal title to find information on print and electronic journals and magazines at WVU.

Find Books

  • MountainLynx
    Find books in WVU Libraries. Search by keyword or subject.
  • WorldCat
    Search the catalogs of libraries worldwide! If WVU doesn't own the book, you can use Interlibrary Loan to order it.

Contact Penny

Profile Image
Penny Pugh
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
WVU Downtown Campus Library
Research Services Department
Room 1004G
Send Email

Loading  Loading...