Skip to main content
Ask A Librarian

Summer Undergraduate Research Experience: Find Scientific Articles

This guide provides students in the summer STEM research programs with resources to complete their research.

First Choice Article Databases to Find Scientific Articles

Search strategy tips:

  • Use the advanced search whenever available.
  • To find out more about the article, read the abstract.
  • Use Find It @ WVU to retrieve the articles not in full text.
  • Why use more than one article database? Because extent of literature coverage varies.

Additional Article Databases

Try these additional article databases if you need to search more than those listed in the First Choice... box.

Primary vs. Secondary Sources

Primary vs Secondary Sources


Primary sources can be

  • data obtained through original research --  scholarly, peer-reviewed articles 
  • accounts by an eyewitness or the first recorder of an event -- newspaper articles
  • creative works such as poetry, music, or art
  • artifacts such as pottery, furniture, and buildings.

Secondary sources are works that

  • analyze
  • evaluate
  • interpret, or
  • criticize primary sources

Secondary sources are generally magazines and other non-scholarly sources such as popular books. However, your textbook is a secondary source; it analyzes, evaluates, and interprets information in primary sources.

Using Find It @ WVU

Use Find It @ WVU to retrieve the articles not in full text.

This link is included in each citation.

In the Find It @ WVU window, click on Article to see full text.  Click on For Journal to search WorldCat for a print copy.